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Introduction 
 

This document discusses taxes and fees in place, primarily at the state level, that fund 

the development and maintenance of Florida’s transportation system.  Readers should 

be aware of the possibility of changes to taxes and fees subsequent to the publication of 

the document. 

 

Please direct questions and suggestions concerning this document to: 

 

Dan Cashin 

Finance, Program and Resource Allocation Manager 

Office of Work Program and Budget 

Florida Department of Transportation 

605 Suwannee Street, Mail Station 21 

Tallahassee, FL  32399-0450 

 

(850) 414-4428 

Daniel.Cashin@dot.state.fl.us 

 

 

mailto:Daniel.Cashin@dot.state.fl.us
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Transportation Funding 

 

Chapter 334, Florida Statutes (F.S.), authorizes the Florida Department of 

Transportation (FDOT) to assume the responsibility for coordinating the planning of a 

safe, viable, and balanced state transportation system serving all regions of the state, 

and to assure the compatibility of all components, including multimodal facilities. 

 

In carrying out its duties, FDOT adopts a 5-year work program which is a list of 

transportation projects planned for each fiscal year. State taxes and fees, along with 

federal aid, make up the primary funding sources for the work program.  Other funding 

sources include tolls collected in certain facilities, proceeds from bond issuances, and 

local taxes and fees. 

 

State Taxes and Fees 

 

Section 206.46, F.S., authorizes the creation of the State Transportation Trust Fund 

(STTF), which is used by FDOT to account for the administration of the maintenance 

and development of the state highway system and other transportation related projects.  

STTF’s primary revenue sources from state taxes and fees include fuel taxes and motor 

vehicle license related fees. 

 

 
Source: Transportation Revenue Estimating Conference (August 2024), Documentary Stamp Tax  

receipts (Fiscal Year 2024) from FDOT Comptroller.  

Fuel Taxes
$2,954 
58%

Motor Vehicle     
License Related Fees

$1,524 
30%

Rental Car Surcharge
$134 
2%

Local Option 
Distribution

$47 
1%

Documentary 
Stamp Tax

$444 
9%

State Taxes and Fees
Deposited in State Transportation Trust Fund

Fiscal Year 2024
($5.1 Billion Total - Amount in Millions)
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Fuel Taxes 
 

Motor fuel and diesel fuel are subject to state taxation pursuant to chapter 206, and 

section 212.0501, F.S.  State taxes include Highway Fuel Sales Tax (indexed annually 

by the Consumer Price Index), Off-Highway Fuel Sales Tax, State Comprehensive 

Enhanced Transportation System Tax (indexed annually by the Consumer Price Index), 

Constitutional Fuel Tax, County Fuel Tax, Municipal Fuel Tax, and Aviation Fuel Tax.  

Federal and local option taxes are also levied on motor fuel and diesel fuel.  Refer to 

Appendix 2 for current fuel tax rates and uses. 

 

The 2022 Legislature enacted the “Motor Fuel Tax Relief Act of 2022” as part of section 

47 of chapter 2022-97 Laws of Florida which reduced the motor fuel sales tax, State 

Comprehensive Enhanced Transportation System (SCETS) tax, municipal fuel tax, and 

county fuel tax rates to zero for the month of October 2022.  It also appropriated $200 

million from the General Revenue Fund to offset estimated revenue losses to the 

various trust funds. 

 

The collection of state fuel taxes is administered by the Florida Department of Revenue.  

While most revenue from the Fuel Sales Tax is distributed to the STTF, set-asides are 

included for the Marine Resources Conservation Trust Fund, Fish and Wildlife 

Conservation Commission, and the Agriculture Emergency Eradication Trust Fund. 

 

Highway Fuel Sales Tax 

 

Tax Type Reference 2025 Rate Use 

State Fuel Sales 
Tax 

206.41(1)(g), 
206.87(1)(e), 
206.606, 212.0501, 
206.9955(2)(e), 
F.S. 

17.5 cents per 
gallon 

At least 15% of 
certain state 
revenues deposited 
into the STTF must 
be dedicated for 
public 
transportation.  
Remainder for any 
legitimate state 
transportation 
purpose. 

 

Highway fuel taxes constitute the oldest continuous source of dedicated transportation 

revenues in the state.  Initially levied in 1921 at the rate of 1¢/gallon, the tax 

experienced periodic increases until 1971, when the rate was set at 8¢/gallon.  This rate 

remained constant until 1983, with the proceeds being shared equally between FDOT 

and local governments.  Beginning in 1972, counties were permitted to tack on the 

state's levy by imposing additional taxes of their own on highway fuels and receiving the 

associated proceeds. 
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In April 1983, the state's fuel taxes were substantially restructured.  FDOT’s share of the 

existing excise tax was repealed so the remainder became the local government share 

which continues to be distributed to counties (3¢/gallon) and municipalities (1¢/gallon).  

In place of the repealed FDOT share of the excise tax, a sales tax was applied to the 

sales of all motor (gasoline) and diesel fuels, with the proceeds earmarked to FDOT. 

Initially, the fuel sales tax was applied at the state's general sales tax rate of 5%; 

however, the way in which this tax was applied to fuel sales differs considerably from 

the method used for all other eligible sales.  Whereas a sales tax is typically applied to 

the total amount of a purchase during a retail transaction, the fuel tax was applied 

against a legislated retail price per gallon at the point of wholesale distribution.  

 

In effect, the sales tax was administered for collection and perceived by the public as a 

continuation of the previous excise tax, although the rate per gallon was higher.  The 

legislated average price of all motor and special fuels was initially set at $1.148/gallon.  

At a 5% tax rate, this resulted in a tax of 5.7¢/gallon.  Between July 1, 1985 and July 1, 

1990, this legislated price was adjusted in proportion to annual changes in the gasoline 

component of the Consumer Price Index (CPI).  Except for one statutory provision, the 

resulting tax per gallon would have varied accordingly.  That provision was enacted by 

the 1985 Legislature which installed a ‘floor’ beneath the tax, preventing it from being 

reduced below its initially calculated level of 5.7¢/gallon, regardless of downward gas 

price movements.  Otherwise, the system operated as an "indexed" fuel tax, with 

changes to the national average price of gasoline serving as the index. 

 

The 1990 Legislature made several significant changes to the sales tax, effective 

January 1, 1991.  First, it raised the rate of the tax from 5% to 6%, regaining parity with 

the state's general sales tax rate which had been increased a couple of years earlier.  

Second, it changed the index to which the legislated price was tied, from the gasoline 

component of the CPI to the more comprehensive CPI (all items).  This was a much 

less volatile index, one that normally could be forecasted more accurately, better 

reflecting the FDOT's overall costs.  Third, though the legislated base price of $1.148 

was retained, the base period to which future index values were to be compared was 

moved forward from a 12-month period in FY 1983-84 to FY 1988-89.  Finally, tax rate 

changes became effective each January 1, as opposed to July 1.  Consequently, a 

given tax rate was made effective during an entire calendar year, instead of a fiscal 

year.  Additionally, in order to provide for an immediate inflow of incremental revenue, 

the minimum tax (floor) was adjusted upward from 5.7¢/gallon to 6.9¢/gallon, effective 

July 1, 1990.  The new figure reflected the result of applying a 6% rate to the legislated 

price of $1.148.  This procedure remained in place through December 1996. 

 

Beginning January 1,1997 the method of determining the sales tax was modified.  The 

legislated price of $1.148 and the sales tax rate of 6% were no longer ‘direct factors’ in 

the calculation.  Instead, the ‘floor tax’ of 6.9¢/gallon was then indexed to the CPI (all 
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items), and the base indexing period remained the same 12-month period as in FY 

1988-89.  The terminal supplier collected almost all of the tax. 

 

The 2004 Legislature approved a one-time fuel tax holiday of 8¢/gallon for the month of 

August 2004.  It also appropriated $58 million from the General Revenue Fund to the 

STTF to offset the estimated revenue loss of fuel receipts during FY 2004-05. 

 

Off-Highway Fuel Sales Tax 

 

Tax Type Reference 2025 Rate Use 

Non-Highway Fuel 
Tax 

206.41(1)(g), 
206.87(1)(e), 
206.606, 212.0501, 
206.9955(2)(e), 
F.S. 

6% of the retail fuel 
price 

At least 15% of 
certain state 
revenues deposited 
into the STTF must 
be dedicated for 
public 
transportation.  
Remainder for any 
legitimate state 
transportation 
purpose. 

 

As the name indicates, off-highway, or non-highway, fuel (in this case, diesel 

exclusively) is consumed in various ‘off-the-road’ activities.  Intrastate railroads, 

commercial vessels, and construction equipment account for most of the receipts 

generated by the tax. 

 

Prior to 1983, taxation of such fuel was accomplished under the state's general sales 

tax laws.  By definition, fuel excise taxes on diesel fuel applied then, as now, only to fuel 

consumed in vehicles subject to registration under the state's motor vehicle licensing 

laws; in other words, fuel used on the highways.  However, when the Legislature 

enacted the sales tax on fuels in 1983, it omitted the restrictive definitions that prevent a 

broader application of the excise tax.  Consequently, this tax applied to fuel for 

machinery, equipment, and certain vehicles which were not specifically exempt from the 

tax. 

 

Through June 1996, the sales tax applied to a gallon of off-highway fuel equivalent to 

the sales tax applied to a gallon of highway fuel.  Beginning July 1, 1996, one gallon of 

off-highway fuel is taxed at 6% of the fuel's retail sales price.  Fuel used by farmers and 

commercial fishermen, once major components, were granted exemptions from the tax 

in 1988. 
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State Comprehensive Enhanced Transportation System (SCETS) Tax 

 

Tax Type Reference 2025 Rate Use 

SCETS Tax 206.41(1)(f), 
206.608, 
206.87(1)(d), 
206.9955(2)(d), 
F.S. 

9.7 cents per gallon  Net receipts must 
be spent in the 
district where 
generated. 

 

The 1990 Legislature levied an additional excise tax on all highway fuels, effective 

January 1, 1991.  This tax took the place of a statutory provision which permitted the 

formation of Metropolitan Transportation Authorities (MTAs) within certain urbanized 

counties.  Once formed, these MTAs were to have broad powers, including those of 

being able to impose additional fuel taxes within their jurisdictions.  Mainly because the 

plans of such authorities and the taxes with which to fund them were subject to approval 

by referendum, no urbanized area was able to implement the concept.  Therefore, the 

Legislature repealed the authority to form MTAs and, instead, levied a substitute excise 

tax which was to be near statewide in scope, and the proceeds of which would be 

deposited into the STTF. 

 

The tax is unique in several respects.  First, its proceeds must be spent in the 

transportation district and, to the extent feasible, in the county from which they are 

collected.  Second, the rate of the tax on gasoline varies by county and was initially set 

at two-thirds of the total optional fuel tax rate that existed in each county, not to exceed 

4¢/gallon.  Finally, the SCETS tax on diesel fuel was imposed at a standard rate of 

1¢/gallon in every county and increased at the rate of one additional cent per gallon 

each year, until it reached the maximum SCETS tax on gasoline, regardless of the 

prevailing rate of optional taxes. 

 

Like the fuel sales tax, the SCETS tax is indexed to the general rate of inflation (CPI, all 

items).  In this case, however, the base year for the value of the index is FY 1989-90.  

Beginning January 1, 1992, and each year thereafter, the SCETS tax rate for both 

gasoline and diesel in each county is adjusted proportionately to the change in the CPI 

during the previous applicable 12-month period, and, as with the sales tax, the revised 

rates apply for the entire calendar year. 
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Constitutional, County, and Municipal Fuel Taxes 

 

Constitutional, County, and Municipal Fuel Taxes originate from the previously imposed 

excise tax of 4¢/gallon and continue to be distributed to local governments.  Two cents, 

or the Constitutional Fuel Tax, was initially levied under s. 16 of Article IX of the State 

Constitution of 1885, as amended.  Its formula for distribution to the counties is 

contained in s. 9(c)(4) of Article XII of the revised State Constitution of 1968.  The first 

use of the proceeds is to meet the debt service requirements, if any, on local bond 

issues backed by the tax proceeds.  The balance, called the 20 percent surplus and the 

80 percent surplus, is credited to the counties' transportation trust funds.  The third cent 

is the County Fuel Tax.  It is levied under s. 206.41, F.S., and distributed by the same 

formula as the Constitutional Fuel Tax.  The fourth cent is termed the Municipal Fuel 

Tax and is levied under s. 206.41, F.S.  Revenues from this tax are transferred into the 

Revenue Sharing Trust Fund for Municipalities, combined with other non-transportation 

revenues, and distributed in accordance with criteria contained in chapter 218, F.S. 

 

Aviation Fuel Tax 

 

When the state first levied its 1¢/gallon excise tax on fuels in 1921, the tax applied to all 

motor fuels, including those used in aircraft engines.  At that time, aviation was in its 

infancy and accounted for only a minor portion of total fuel consumption.  However, by 

1935, the fuel tax rate had reached 7¢/gallon, and aviation activities were increasing 

substantially.  To help promote the development of the industry, the Legislature 

exempted all aviation fuels from the excise tax. 

 

Aircraft fuels remained totally exempt from state taxation until 1963, when the 

Legislature decided to apply the full sales tax on fuels used in general aviation and 

intrastate carrier operations and a "prorated" tax on fuels consumed in interstate and 

foreign commerce. 

 

Proration was a system whereby a carrier purchasing fuel in Florida paid only a portion 

of the total sales tax for which it normally would be liable.  The share any carrier (airline 

company) paid was in direct relation to the proportion that its miles traveled within 

Florida's airspace bore to its total, worldwide fleet mileage.  On average, proration 

resulted in the state realizing only about 6% of the fuel tax revenues that would have 

been collected from interstate and foreign carriers had they been subject to full taxation 

on their fuel purchases. 

 

In April 1983, the Legislature restructured the state's aviation fuel taxes.  First, it 

permitted aviation fuels to remain exempt from the state's fuel excise taxes and any 

additional taxes that local governments were authorized to impose.  Second, the 

practice of prorating the fuel taxes owed by interstate and foreign air carriers was 

terminated, and all aviation fuels were subject to the same sales tax that was levied on 
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highway fuels.  Finally, collections of aviation fuel taxes were earmarked for use by the 

FDOT. 

 

Subsequent to the enactment of the new aviation fuel tax, many major airline 

companies filed a lawsuit challenging the legality of the tax.  While the lawsuits were in 

progress, the litigants were permitted to place their related tax payments into escrow.  

Although the state judiciary upheld the constitutionality of the tax, its decisions were 

appealed to the U.S. Supreme Court.  In the meantime, in order to break the revenue 

stalemate, the 1985 Legislature modified the aviation fuel tax structure.  Instead of the 

tax being calculated as a percentage of an artificial retail price, it was set at a constant 

5.7¢/gallon and re-established as an excise tax.  In addition, the proceeds of the tax 

were directed to the state's General Revenue Fund, instead of STTF. 

 

Soon after the 1985 Legislature adjourned, the U.S. Supreme Court refused to hear the 

appeals filed by the domestic airlines.  This refusal effectively exhausted the legal 

recourse available to these carriers and subjected them to the decision of the Florida 

court.  Since then, all have remitted their previously escrowed taxes, with interest, to the 

state.  Except for the General Revenue service charge, these payments were 

distributed to the FDOT.  The U.S. Supreme Court did accept jurisdiction in the cases 

brought by the foreign airlines, but in June 1986 rejected their appeals.  Hence, these 

carriers also became obligated to pay their back-taxes. 

 

The 1986 Legislature redirected the proceeds of the aviation fuel tax to the STTF after 

deductions for administrative costs and the General Revenue service charge.  The tax 

remained at 5.7¢/gallon purchased in the state, although airlines with Florida-based 

employees became eligible for refunds of fuel taxes paid in an amount equivalent to a 

percentage of the employees’ in-state wages. 

 

In 1990, the Legislature raised the aviation fuel tax rate to 6.9¢/gallon.  The rate would 

remain until changed by legislative action. 

 

In 1996, the Legislature granted an exemption from payment of the aviation fuel tax, in 

the form of a refund, to any air carrier offering transcontinental jet service which, after 

January 1, 1996, increases its Florida workforce by more than 1000 percent and by 250 

or more full-time equivalent employee positions.  This aviation fuel tax refund was 

originally intended as a short-term incentive to attract new airline carriers to the state. 

Following the tragic events of September 11, 2001, the Legislature extended this refund 

policy with no expiration date. 

 

In 2016, the Legislature passed legislation that would remove aviation refunds available 

to certain airlines and lower the aviation fuel tax rate to 4.27¢ beginning in FY 2019-20. 
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Local Fuel Taxes 

 

The population growth experienced during the decades of the sixties and seventies, 

coupled with high rates of inflation, placed capital demands on local governments which 

far exceeded their existing revenue-raising ability.  Initially, much of this demand was 

focused on the need to improve and expand the transportation system for which 

counties and cities were responsible.  Hence, in 1972, a precedent was established 

when the Legislature authorized counties to tack on a limited impost of their own in 

addition to the state's excise tax on highway fuel. 

 

Ninth-Cent Fuel Tax 

 

Originally labeled the Ninth-Cent tax when the state's fuel excise taxes totaled 8 cents, 

this tax was first authorized in 1972 by section 336.021, F.S.  It was renamed the Voted 

Gas Tax in 1983 when the state's fuel taxes increased to 9.7¢/gallon.  The tax is limited 

to 1¢/gallon on highway fuels, has no time limit and, until 1992, had to be approved by 

the electorate in a countywide referendum.  The 1992 Legislature authorized "small" 

counties (those with a population of 50,000 or less on April 1, 1992) to impose the tax 

by an extraordinary (majority plus one) vote of their governing bodies.  Since a 

referendum no longer was necessary in every case the tax was, rather inappropriately, 

re-designated its original name. 

 

In 1993, the Legislature removed the referendum requirement entirely so that any 

county, regardless of size, could now impose the tax by extraordinary vote of its Board 

of Commissioners.  The tax assumed its current name in 1996.  The proceeds of the tax 

may be shared with cities in whatever proportion agreed upon.   

 

Beginning January 1, 1994, the Ninth-Cent tax on diesel fuel was no longer optional.  

The 1990 Legislature decided to equalize all optional taxes on diesel fuel so that 

interstate truckers, who pay fuel taxes based on miles driven in the state, would be 

subject to standardized tax rates.  Currently, 55 of 67 counties in Florida have 

implemented the Ninth-Cent Fuel Tax. 

 

Local Option Fuel Tax (1 to 6 Cents and 1 to 5 Cents) 

 

The 1983 Legislature provided local governments with a new source of revenue.  

Originally called the Local Option Gas Tax and renamed the Local Option Fuel Tax in 

1996, it is described in section 336.025, F.S.  Initially, it was established as a tax of 1¢ 

to 4¢ on each gallon of highway fuel, which could be levied at the option of a county's 

governing body for a maximum period of five years, and whose proceeds were required 

to be shared with municipalities.  It was to be collected at the wholesale level along with 

the fuel excise taxes and the fuel sales tax.  While the tax retains some of its original 

characteristics, it has also undergone significant change since it was first authorized. 
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The tax was initially imposed during an early special session of the Legislature.  That 

same year, when the Legislature returned for its regular session, it extended the 

maximum duration of the tax to ten years in order to make it at least minimally suitable 

as a security against which to issue debt.  Then in 1985, counties were authorized to 

raise the maximum rate of the tax to 6¢ per gallon and its duration to 30 years.  At the 

same time, collection of the tax was moved to the retail level in order to positively 

identify the location and the tax rate at which each gallon of fuel was sold.  To make tax 

administration more efficient for both the state and the fuel industry, the tax collection 

point was shifted to the wholesaler (for gasoline and gasohol) and the terminal supplier 

(for diesel fuel), beginning in July 1996. 

 

The 1990 Legislature chose to equalize the Local Option Fuel Tax on diesel fuel.  

Beginning January 1, 1991, the minimum tax rate on diesel fuel was set at 4¢/gallon.  

Then, on January 1 of each of the following two years, the minimum rate rose by one 

cent until it reached 6¢/gallon on January 1, 1993. 

 

At first, proceeds of the tax could only be used for transportation purposes.  However, in 

a major departure from the user-fee concept, the 1992 Legislature authorized any ‘small 

county’ (with 50,000 or fewer people as of April 1, 1992) to use the proceeds for other 

capital infrastructure needs, if the transportation element of its comprehensive plan had 

been fully satisfied.  This exception applies only to the six cents of tax authorized prior 

to 1993. 

 

The most significant change occurred in the 1993 legislative session, when counties 

were accorded the option of imposing still another 1¢ to 5¢ on each gallon of motor fuel 

(gasoline and gasohol, but not diesel).  With this latest authorization, counties were able 

to levy a tax of up to 11¢ on each gallon of gasoline, while the rate for diesel remained 

standard in every county at 6¢ per gallon.  The first six cents of the tax on motor fuel 

may be imposed by a majority vote of the Board of County Commissioners or a county-

wide referendum initiated by either the county commission or municipalities 

representing more than 50% of the county's population.  To impose the remaining five 

cents, however, an extraordinary vote of the county commission or a county-wide 

referendum initiated by the commission is required. 

 

The proceeds of the tax must still be shared with municipalities, either in accordance 

with a mutually agreed upon distribution scheme (which is subject to periodic review) or, 

if agreement cannot be reached, by using a backup formula contained in the statute.  A 

local government may pledge any of its revenues from the tax to repay state bonds 

issued on its behalf and, in addition, may use such revenues to match state funds in the 

ratio 50%/50% for projects on the State Highway System, or for other road projects 

which would alleviate congestion on the State Highway System. 
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Currently, all counties in Florida have implemented the full 6 cents of the 1 to 6 Cents 

Local Option Fuel Tax, and 38 counties have implemented some or all of the 1 to 5 

Cents Local Option Fuel Tax. 

 
Federal Fuel Taxes 

 

The first federal gasoline tax in the U.S. was created with the enactment of the Revenue 

Act of 1932 with a tax of 1¢/gallon.  Since 1993, the U.S. federal gasoline tax has been 

18.4¢/gallon.  The current tax rate for diesel fuel is 24.4¢/gallon.  At the federal level, 

the majority of the taxes are collected when product is removed from the bulk storage 

terminals.  The companies pay the tax to the Internal Revenue Service.   

 

The revenue from the collected federal fuel taxes are deposited into the Federal 

Highway Trust Fund, which has several accounts.  Generally, the Leaking Underground 

Storage Tank Trust Fund receives 0.1 ¢/gallon of the fuel tax, the Mass Transit Account 

of the Highway Trust Fund receives 2.86 ¢/gallon and the Highway Account of the 

Highway Trust Fund receives the remainder. 

 

Fuel taxes are only one of several sources of federal highway user charges that are 

deposited into the Federal Highway Trust Fund.  Funds are distributed to the states 

from the Federal Highway Trust Fund through a system of formula grants and 

discretionary allocations by the Federal Highway Administration.  

 
Alternative Fuel Fees 

 

Alternative fuels are non-conventional fuels such as propane, butane, and other 

liquefied petroleum gases (LPG) or compressed natural gases (CNG).  Use of such 

fuels represents only a very small part of the state's total fuel consumption.  Total 

statewide receipts from the fees on alternative fuels historically amounted to less than 

$1 million annually.  Prior to January 2014, owners of vehicles titled in Florida paid their 

fuel taxes through the purchase of an annual decal, the price of which varied according 

to the type of vehicle involved and the total amount of state and local diesel fuel taxes in 

effect in the county of residence.  Out-of-state vehicles incurred their tax at the pump at 

the equivalent of the SCETS, Constitutional, County, Municipal, Ninth-cent, and Local 

Option taxes on diesel fuel.  Collections were distributed to the regular recipients of and 

in proportion to the taxes upon which the Alternative Fuel Fees were based.  In order to 

encourage the use of alternative fuels, the 2013 Florida Legislature passed legislation to 

exempt these fuels from taxation beginning January 1, 2014 and ending January 1, 

2024.  The 2023 Florida Legislature passed legislation that further extended the 

exemption date for these fuels from January 1, 2024 to January 1, 2026. 
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Fuel Use Tax 

 

Imposed by the Florida Special Fuel and Motor Fuel Use Tax Act of 1981, this tax is 

designed to ensure that heavy vehicles which engage in interstate operations incur 

taxes based upon fuel consumed, rather than purchased, in the state.  Prior to the law's 

passage, operators of such vehicles were able to buy fuel (often at lower prices) in a 

neighboring state, use the fuel on Florida's roads, and, if the state in which the fuel was 

bought had a similar tax, receive a refund for taxes paid but not incurred.  Thus, 

Florida's roads received uncompensated damage, vehicles consumed untaxed fuel, and 

the state's retail fuel outlets, particularly those in the northern tier, were deprived of 

sales that otherwise might have occurred. 

 

Every state in the nation now imposes such a tax via the International Fuel Tax 

Agreement.  In Florida, it applies, with few exceptions, to each privately-owned vehicle 

with at least three axles or a gross weight of more than 26,000 pounds that engages in 

interstate operations, whether or not titled in this state.  The tax is comprised of an 

annual decal fee of $4.00 plus a use tax based upon the number of gallons of fuel 

consumed multiplied by the prevailing statewide fuel tax rate.  The decal serves as an 

identifying device to validate that a vehicle is registered to use the state's roads and to 

ensure receipt of applicable tax returns.  If, during a reporting period, a vehicle 

consumes more fuel than was purchased, additional taxes are due.  Otherwise, a credit 

or refund is issued.  Distributions of tax receipts are made to the recipients of and in 

proportion to the taxes that are used to calculate the total Fuel Use Tax rate. 
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Motor Vehicle License Related Fees 
 

Funding transportation from vehicle-related revenues started very early in Florida's 

transportation history.  Almost from their inception, motor vehicle license fees were 

designated as a highway user charge levied to partially defray the costs of constructing 

and maintaining the roads which benefited those who paid the fees.  This philosophy 

remains a part of the current vehicle registration statutes. 

 

Recognizing the tremendous burden that a rapidly growing vehicle fleet was placing on 

the state's highway system, the Legislature in 1990 included new vehicle fees in the 

major transportation funding package enacted that year.  Those fees included the initial 

registration ("New Wheels on the Road") fee and the motor vehicle title fee. 

 

With the exception of the rental car surcharge, the Department of Highway Safety and 

Motor Vehicles administers the collection of motor vehicle license related fees, 

governed by chapters 319 and 320, F.S.  Fees collected are distributed pursuant to 

statutory requirements to the General Revenue Fund, Highway Safety Operating Trust 

Fund, STTF, Transportation Disadvantaged Trust Fund, Department of Education Trust 

Fund, and other funds. 

 

Motor Vehicle License Fees 
 

Although these fees provided the very first funding source for FDOT's activities (1915), 

their use for transportation was terminated in 1931.  Not until 1977, when the 

Legislature directed that 36.5% of the gross proceeds from the tax be deposited into the 

STTF, was the original intent of the fees at least partially reinstated. 

 

In 1981, an additional part of the proceeds was earmarked to transportation when the 

Legislature discontinued using any of the fees as a general fund source, and, instead, 

dedicated the previous general revenue share to completing the state's Interstate 

Highway System.  That change resulted in a three-way distribution which allocated the 

constitutional first proceeds to educational needs, the second proceeds to general 

transportation needs, and the remainder to the Interstate System exclusively. 

 

In May 1983, both the fee structure and the system of distribution underwent substantial 

change.  Annual fees on autos and small trucks were increased modestly depending on 

weight class, while fees for the three heaviest categories of truck-tractors were raised 

more substantially.  The distribution scheme was altered so that the annual Interstate 

share of revenues was reduced to a constant $25 million, with the residual (excluding 

education's first proceeds) earmarked to general transportation needs. 

 

In 1985, the Legislature decided that a separate state source of Interstate funding was 

no longer required, and so it abolished the dedicated fund into which part of the license 
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fees had been deposited during the previous four years.  After the educational 

requirement was satisfied, the entire residual proceeds were deposited into the STTF. 

 

Motor vehicle license fees also played a part in the major revenue package that was 

enacted in 1990.  Although none of the annual registration fees which applied to the 

various categories of vehicles were raised, two changes were made which provided 

significant additional income.  The first eliminated the ability of the owners of most 

vehicle types to purchase tags for a period of less than a whole year (fractional tags).  

The second, having a similar effect, eliminated the ability to obtain a refund for a license 

tag not yet expired.  The combination of these actions results in each tag sold producing 

its full, annual statutory fee. 

 

There have been no increases in the transportation portion of base motor vehicle 

registration fees since 1983.  With Florida’s economy struggling, the 2009 Legislature 

made rate changes to various motor vehicle fees with the additional proceeds being 

distributed to the General Revenue Fund.  The 2014 Legislature decreased the base 

registration fees back to what they were before 2009 for private automobiles, light 

trucks, antique cars, and motorcycles.  This had the effect of eliminating the portion 

deposited into the General Revenue Fund.  Base registration fees for heavy trucks, for-

hire vehicles, and other miscellaneous autos such as buses and trailers were not 

changed by the 2014 Legislature. 

 

Effective July 1, 2021, chapter 2021-186 LOF repealed the Multi-use Corridors of 
Regional Economic Significance Program (MCORES).  MCORES increased motor 
vehicle license fees revenue to the STTF by redirecting the General Revenue piece to 
the STTF.  Chapter 2021-186 Laws of Florida requires that the STTF use this revenue 
increase to fund three arterial highway programs. 
  
Motor Vehicle License Surcharge  

 

Effective July 1991, as a partial offset to an early payback of a previous FDOT loan from 

the state's General Revenue Fund, the Legislature imposed a $2 surcharge on the 

annual registration fee of every vehicle except mobile homes.  All proceeds from this 

surcharge were deposited into the STTF.  The 2009 Legislature increased the $2 

surcharge to $4, with the increased $2 being distributed to the General Revenue Fund.  

In 2011, the Legislature moved the Office of Commercial Vehicle Enforcement (formerly 

a portion of the Office of Motor Carrier Compliance) from the Department of 

Transportation to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.  In lieu of an 

annual transfer of funds between the departments of Transportation and Highway 

Safety to fund the operating costs of the program, $1 of the $4 surcharge was 

redirected from the STTF to the Highway Safety and Operating Trust Fund in 2013.  

The very next year, the 2014 Legislature altered the amount and distribution of this 

surcharge again.  First, the $2 General Revenue portion was eliminated, in order to 

bring the fee back to what it was before the 2009 registration fee increase.  In addition, 
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the $1 Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund portion was reduced by 80 cents to offset 

the equivalent increase in 2009 of the advanced plate replacement fee.  The License 

Tax Surcharge is now $1.20, with $1 deposited into the STTF and 20 cents deposited 

into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. 

 

Initial Registration Fee 

 

This is one of three vehicle taxes which the 1990 Legislature increased and from which 

it directed a share of proceeds to finance transportation improvements.  This one-time 

fee was originally levied in October 1989 in the amount of $30, with the entire yield 

dedicated to funding law enforcement activities.  Known originally as the ‘New Wheels 

on the Road’ Fee, it is designed primarily to affect only those vehicle owners whose 

actions result in net additions to the state's registered vehicle stock.  This is 

accomplished by exempting several kinds of registration transactions and by allowing 

refunds of the fee, if another eligible vehicle is disposed of within 90 days.  The fee 

applies only to automobiles, light trucks, and certain recreational vehicles. 

 

In 1990, the Legislature increased the fee to $100, directing the additional $70 (less a 

General Revenue service charge) to the STTF.  The other $30 continued to be 

deposited into the Law Enforcement Trust Fund.  In 1991, two changes were made.  

First, the $30 portion of the fee was redirected to the state's General Revenue Fund in 

lieu of the Law Enforcement Trust Fund.  Second, as an additional offset to the early 

loan repayment cited earlier, the entire proceeds of the $100 fee (less the General 

Revenue service charge) were deposited into the STTF for a two-year period between 

July 1, 1992 and June 30, 1994.  Beginning July 1, 2001, the General Revenue service 

charge portion (7%) was redirected to the STTF.  Beginning July 1, 2005, the entire 

$100 fee was distributed to the STTF.  The 2009 Legislature increased the Initial 

Registration Fee to $225, with the increased $125 being distributed into the General 

Revenue Fund and $100 continuing to be distributed into the STTF.  The distribution 

schedule was again changed by the 2014 Legislature, reducing the General Revenue 

portion to $93 and directing $32 to the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.  The 

STTF amount remained $100.  That would change in 2015 when the Legislature 

redirected the General Revenue portion of Initial Registration Fees to the STTF as a 

partial offset to the reduction of the STTF portion of documentary stamp taxes due to 

implementation of the Water and Land Conservation Amendment.  The STTF portion of 

the $225 Initial Registration Fee is now 85.7%, or $193. 

 

Motor Vehicle Title Fee 

 

The practice of issuing titles, or certificates of ownership, for each vehicle registered in 

the state began in 1923.  In 1941, the basic charge for this service was set at 50 cents.  

The fee was increased to $1 in 1947, and then to $3 in 1967.  It remained at that level 

through 1990.  Throughout its history, all collections from the imposition of these fees 
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had been deposited into the state's General Revenue Fund until 1989, when $1 of the 

fee was directed to the Odometer Fraud Prevention and Detection Trust Fund. 

 

In conjunction with its other major transportation funding initiatives, the 1990 Legislature 

raised the basic fee for original and duplicate certificates of title to $24, effective 

January 1, 1991.  Of this amount, $21 was distributed to the STTF.  The remaining $3 

was distributed to the General Revenue Fund.  The $21 incremental increase did not 

apply to salvage or for-hire vehicles.  The General Revenue service charge of 7% for 

Motor Vehicle Title Fees was eliminated July 1, 2000. 

 

The 2009 Legislature increased Motor Vehicle Title Fees to $70, distributing $49 to the 

General Revenue Fund and continuing to distribute $21 to the STTF.  All title fees 

revenue from for-hire vehicles is deposited into the General Revenue Fund.  The 2012 

Legislature directed that the first $200 million collected from $47 of the $49 General 

Revenue Fund portion of the $70 title fee be deposited into the STTF, beginning FY 

2012-13; however, this amount was then transferred to the General Revenue Fund for 

FY 2012-13 only. 

 

Documentary Stamp Tax 
 

Documentary stamp tax is levied on documents, as provided under chapter 201, F.S.  

Documents subject to the tax include, but are not limited to:  deeds, stocks and bonds, 

notes and written obligations to pay money, mortgages, liens, and other evidences of 

indebtedness. 

 

Documentary stamp tax comprises two taxes imposed on different bases at different tax 

rates. The tax on deeds and other documents related to real property is at the rate of 70 

cents per $100. Certificates of indebtedness, promissory notes, wage assignments and 

retail charge account agreements are taxed at 35 cents per $100. The Department of 

Revenue administers the collection of documentary stamp tax.  Revenue from 

documentary stamp tax is divided between the General Revenue Fund and various trust 

funds. 

 

The 2005 Legislature passed a growth management bill to address needed 

infrastructure in Florida.  The growth management package provided $541.75 million 

annually from documentary stamp tax revenue to fund transportation needs.  The 2008 

Legislature changed the distribution of documentary stamp tax collections so that the 

STTF received 38.2% of collections after other distributions are made, not to exceed 

$541.75 million per year.  Additionally, the 2011 Legislature directed the following 

amounts to be transferred to the State Economic Enhancement and Development 

(SEED) Trust Fund from the STTF portion of documentary stamp tax revenues:  $50 

million in FY 2012-13, $65 million in FY 2013-14, and $75 million every fiscal year 

thereafter. 
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In 2014, Florida voters approved a constitutional amendment to provide a dedicated 

funding source for water and land conservation and restoration.  The amendment 

required that starting on July 1, 2015 and continuing for 20 years thereafter, 33 percent 

of net revenues derived from the excise tax on documents must be deposited into the 

Land Acquisition Trust Fund to be used for water and land conservation. Legislation 

implementing the Water and Land Conservation Amendment passed the 2015 Special 

Session A of the Florida Legislature, lowered the percentage of documentary stamp tax 

revenue available to STTF from 38.2% to 24.18442%. To partially offset the lost 

transportation funding, this reduction was accompanied by a redirect of Initial 

Registration Fees from the General Revenue Fund to the STTF. After the required 

distribution to the Land Acquisition Trust Fund, the lesser of 24.18442% of the 

remainder or $541.75 million in each fiscal year is paid into the State Treasury to the 

credit of the STTF.   

 

Legislation (chapter 2021-39 Laws of Florida) passed during the 2021 Session reduced 

the percentage of documentary stamp tax revenue available to STTF from 24.18442% 

to 20.5453% with a cap of $466.75 million down from $541.75 million.  The legislation 

also moved the $75 million transfer to the General Revenue Fund from the STTF.  
 

Section 201.15, F.S., specifies the amounts to be used in certain programs such as the 

New Starts Transit Program, authorized by Title 49, U.S.C. section 5309 and specified 

in section 341, F.S.; Small County Outreach Program specified in section 339.2818, 

F.S.; Strategic Intermodal System specified in sections. 339.61, 339.62, 339.63, and 

339.64, F.S.; and the Transportation Regional Incentive Program specified in section 

339.2819, F.S. 

 

Rental Car Surcharge 

 

Rental car surcharge is imposed at the rate of $2 per day, for the first 30 days of the 

lease or rental of for-hire vehicles designed to carry fewer than nine passengers. 

Members of a car-sharing service pay $1 per usage under 24 hours and $2 per day 

after the first 24 hour period. 

 

The Department of Revenue administers the collection of rental car surcharge.  

Revenue from the rental car surcharge is distributed to the STTF (80%), the Tourism 

Promotional Trust Fund (15.75%), and the Florida International Trade and Promotion 

Trust Fund (4.25%). 

 

This fee was originally imposed in October 1989 and assessed by the 1990 Legislature 

in its efforts to enhance transportation funding.  The distribution scheme has changed 

through time.  Currently, the tax distribution to the STTF must be spent in the 

transportation district from which the surcharges were collected. 
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Other Transportation Tax Source – 
Charter County and Regional Transportation System Surtax 

 

Each charter county that has adopted a charter, each county the government of which is 

consolidated with that of one or more municipalities, and each county that is within or 

under an interlocal agreement with a regional transportation or transit authority created 

under chapters 343 or 349, F.S., may levy the Charter County and Regional 

Transportation System Surtax at a rate of up to 1 percent. The levy is subject to 

approval by a majority vote of the county’s electorate or by a charter amendment 

approved by a majority vote of the county’s electorate. Duval, Broward, and Miami-Dade 

counties have levied this surtax.  The Department of Revenue distributes the surtax 

proceeds to the county government for deposit into the county trust fund or remittance 

by the county’s governing body to an expressway, transit, or transportation authority 

created by law.  Generally, the surtax proceeds may be expended by the county 

government or authority for the planning, development, construction, operation, and 

maintenance of roads and bridges, bus and fixed guideway systems, on-demand 

transportation services, and for the payment of principal and interest on bonds issued 

for construction. 
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Appendix 1 
 

Tax Law References 

 

Level Tax Type Reference 

Federal 
 

Federal Highway Fuel 
Taxes, Federal Excise and 
Heavy Truck Use Taxes, 
Federal Aviation Taxes 

Title 26, United States 
Code 

State – For State Use 

Fuel Sales Tax 206.41(1)(g), 206.87(1)(e), 
206.606, 212.0501, 
206.9955(2)(e), F.S. 

SCETS Tax 206.41(1)(f), 206.608, 
206.87(1)(d), 
206.9955(2)(d), F.S. 

Aviation Fuel Tax 206.9825, 206.9845, 
206.9855, F.S. 

Fuel Use Tax and Fee 207.003, 207.004, F.S. 

Motor Vehicle License Fee Const. Art. XII, Sec. 
9(d)(3) ; 320.08, 320.20, 
F.S. 

Initial Registration Fee 320.072, F.S. 

Title Fee 319.32, F.S. 

Rental Car Surcharge 212.0606, F.S. 

Documentary Stamp Tax  201.15, F.S.   
 
 

Alternative Fuel 206.9955, F.S. 

State – For Local Use 

Fuel Excise Taxes ; 
Constitutional, County and 
Municipal Fuel Taxes ; 
Fuel Use Tax 

206.41(1)(a), (b), (c) ; 
206.87(1)(a), 207.003, 
206.9955(2)(a), F.S. 

Local 

Ninth-Cent Fuel Tax 206.41(1)(d), 206.87(1)(b), 
336.021, 206.9955(2)(b), 
F.S. 

Local Option Fuel Tax 206.41(1)(e), 206.87(1)(c), 
336.025, 206.9955(2)(c), 
F.S. 
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Appendix 2 
 

2025 Fuel Tax Rates and Uses 

 

Level Tax Type Fuel Type Rate Use 

Federal 
Fuel Excise 
Tax 

Motor Fuel 18.4¢/gal 
2.86¢ for mass transit.  
0.1¢ for leaking tanks.  
Remainder for roads 
and bridges. Diesel Fuel 24.4¢/gal 

State 
(Distributed to 

FDOT) 

Fuel Sales Tax 
Motor Fuel and 

Diesel Fuel 
  

17.5¢/gal 

At least 15% of FDOT 
receipts dedicated for 
public transportation.  
Remainder for any 
legitimate state 
transportation purpose. 

SCETS Tax 
Motor Fuel and 

Diesel Fuel  
 9.7¢/gal  

Net receipt must be 
spent in the district 
where generated. 

State Tax Aviation Fuel 4.27¢/gal 
FDOT receipts 
dedicated for aviation 
related projects. 

Natural Gas 
Fuel Tax 

Alternative 
Fuel 

N/A 
Exempt until January 
1, 2026. 

State 
(Distributed to 

Local 
Governments) 

Constitutional 
Fuel Tax 

Motor Fuel and 
Diesel Fuel 

2¢/gal 
Acquisition, 
construction and 
maintenance of roads. 

County Fuel 
Tax 

Motor Fuel and 
Diesel Fuel 

1¢/gal 
Any legitimate county 
transportation purpose. 

Municipal Fuel 
Tax 

Motor Fuel and 
Diesel Fuel 

1¢/gal 
Any legitimate 
municipal 
transportation purpose. 

Local 

Ninth-Cent 
Fuel Tax 

Motor Fuel 
0¢ - 

1¢/gal 
Any legitimate county 
or muncipal 
transportation purpose. Diesel Fuel 1¢/gal 

Local Option 
Fuel Tax 

(Includes 1-6¢ 
Fuel Tax and 
1-5¢ Fuel Tax 

Motor Fuel 
6¢ - 

11¢/gal 

Local transportation ; 
small counties may 
also use funds for 
other infrastructure 
needs. 

Diesel Fuel 6¢/gal 

 

Note: 

1. Motor Fuel includes gasoline, gasohol, and fuel grade ethanol. 

2. Off-Highway (or Non-Highway) fuels are taxed at 6% of the retail fuel price. 
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Appendix 3 
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Appendix 4 
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2025 MOTOR FUEL TAX RATES: 55.7-61.7 CENTS PER GALLON

Municipal 1 cent/Gal.

County 1 cent/Gal.

Ninth-cent 0-1 cent/Gal.

Constitutional 2 cents/Gal.

Local Option 0-5 cents/Gal.

Local Option 6 cents/Gal.

SCETS 9.7 cents/Gal.

Inspection Fees 0.125 cents/Gal.

State Sales 17.5 cents/Gal.

Federal Gas 18.4 cents/Gal.

State       
27.3 cents

Local                            
Ranges                         

10-16 cents

Federal       
18.4 cents
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Appendix 4 (continued) 
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2025 DIESEL FUEL TAX RATES: 62.6 CENTS PER GALLON

Municipal 1 cent/Gal.

County 1 cent/Gal.

Ninth-cent 1 cent/Gal.

Constitutional 2 cents/Gal.

Local Option 6 cents/Gal.

SCETS 9.7 cents/Gal.

State Sales 17.5 cents/Gal.

Federal Diesel 24.4 cents/Gal.

State       
27.2 cents

Local                            
11 cents

Federal       
24.4 cents
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Appendix 5 
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Historical Motor Fuel Taxes
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Appendix 6 

 
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) 

 

1. Is the motor fuel tax rate impacted by changing fuel prices? 
With the exception of the off-highway sales tax on dyed diesel, the motor fuel tax 
rate is charged on a per gallon basis.  Therefore, the motor fuel tax rate is not 
impacted by the price of fuel but rather the number of gallons purchased. 

 
2. Is the motor fuel tax rate adjusted for changes to inflation? 

The state portion of the motor fuel tax rate is adjusted (indexed) to the general rate 
of inflation using the Consumer Price Index (CPI) every January. 

 
3. How much additional fuel sales tax revenue does the department receive 

because the fuel sales tax is indexed?  
Beginning January 1, 1997, the ‘floor tax’ of 6.9¢/gallon was indexed to the CPI. In 
FY 23-24, the department received about $1.123 billion additional revenue when 
compared to what collections would have been without fuel tax indexing. 
 

4. Can I find out how much fuel tax revenue was generated in my area (county 
or municipality)?  
To reduce administrative burden, the motor fuel tax is collected at the 
wholesaler/distributer level rather than the direct consumer.  Thus, actual revenue 
by county is not available because data is reported at the statewide level.  The 
Florida Department of Revenue generates motor fuel gallons used in each county 
in the Certified Fuel Gallons Report located in the Single Revenue Source Reports 
dropdown list at: 
 https://floridarevenue.com/DataPortal/Pages/TaxResearch.aspx 

 
5. How much fuel tax does the typical Florida driver pay each year? 

The typical Florida driver annually pays $310 in motor fuel tax ($96 in Federal fuel 
tax, $141 in State fuel tax, and $73 in Local fuel tax) for transportation related 
projects.  These amounts equate to approximately 2.4 cents per mile. 

 
6. How much transportation revenue is used for non-transportation purposes?  

During the next ten years, the transfer from transportation revenues to non-
transportation purposes averages to about $249 million annually. These uses 
include transfers to other programs such as education, the environment, and 
economic development. 
 

 

https://floridarevenue.com/dataPortal/GTA/Certified%20Gallons/certgallons24.xlsx

